Avani Avittam special… Sweet Appam!

What an exciting morning! Today, South Indian Brahmins all over the world celebrate Avani Avittam. For those of you who don’t know what this festival is all about here is the link that explains the significance. http://www.avaniavittam.org/index.php/en/.

But to me the most important thing about this festival is the food. Not a surprise 😉 After talking to my grand mother last night (around 1am) I decided to make the “sweet appam” which is a special dish made for this occasion. Only after I spoke to her I realized I did not have jaggery. So I rushed to the grocery store (yes at 1pm) and thankfully I was able to find dark brown sugar. Woke up early this morning and made this super delicious sweet appam and it turned out perfect.

 My grand mother’s recipe is perfect because:1. I tried this for the first time and it worked and 2. Since I made this for the morning pooja I did not taste the dish while cooking and it still  turned out close to being perfect 🙂 Thanks Paati for this perfect recipe

 

Ingredients:

Wheat flour – 1 cup

Rice flour – ½ cup

Jaggery (I used dark brown sugar and it came out very well) – 3/4 cup

(If you use jaggery then add 1/2 cup but if you use brown sugar granules then use 3/4 cup)

Cardamom powder- ¼ tsp

Banana – 1

Coconut- 2 tsp (shredded) 

 (Makes about 20 appams)

 

1. To make the batter:

Mix wheat flour, rice flour, brown sugar, cardamom, banana (mash it up well), and coconut. Add water to bring it to a dosa batter like consistency (not too runny not to thick)

 

2. Fry it:

One option is to deep fry it but I prefer the “no oil” or the “less oil” method. I have what is called a “ paniyarakkal”  or “paniyara pan” . I forgot to take a picture of it while I was cooking but here is a link that you can check out. Its not too expensive.

http://www.prestigesmartkitchen.com/default/omega-select-plus-paniyarakkal-250-mm/p-33442-14322577706-cat.html#variant_id=33442-14322577706

 

Take a spoonful of batter and pour it in each of the small holes (typically 7). Close the lid and wait for it to cook (about 4-5 minutes). Slowly turn it and cook the other side. Once cooked remove from the pan and serve hot 🙂

2 Comments Add yours

  1. v. says:

    after a long time. Nice!

  2. vijee says:

    How about cooking with no sugar at all and then adding maple syrup to taste?

Leave a Reply

