Thenga Manga Kadala Sundal (Coconut Mango and chickpea Sundal)

To all beach “sundal” lovers !

Last Sunday, I had an interesting conversation with a friend about beaches in Chennai and gradually, the conversation drifted towards masala kadalai, sundal and mangai badhai (raw mango wedges). During my undergraduate days, Besant nagar  beach used to a popular hang out spot for my friends and me and eating sundal and manga badhai was almost a tradition. Even now everytime I visit Chennai I make it a point to go to besant nagar beach just to eat sundal and raw mango wedges with lots of spices. As a child I used to hate raw mangoes (anything too sour), but loved the ripe ones. Trips to Bessie beach turned that around for me and I absolutely started enjoying the sour raw mango.  I don’t know about you, but talking about food makes me hungry. Ever since the conversation happened, I have been craving “beach sundal”. Luckily the Indian store here in Houston carried some raw mangoes and I decided to make this delicious sundal. This is usually done with white peas but I made it with channa instead.

Channa/ chickpea/garbanzo beans – 450g (One can)

(You can either soak dry channa the previous day and then pressure cook it or just buy a can of channa from the store. I usually wash the channa really well before using it)

Raw mango – 1 cup chopped into thin pieces (about half mango)

Coconut – 2 tbsp (greated)

Red chilli – 3-4

Urad dhal – 1 tsp

Mustard seeds– 1 tsp

Salt to taste

Curry leaves

In a pan, add 1 tsp oil and add mustard seeds, urad dhal,red chilli and curry leaves. When mustard seeds start splattering, add cooked channa( make sure you drain all the water) , mango and sauté it just for a few minutes. Add grated coconut and serve hot.

A perfect accompaniment is raw mango wedges. Cut the mango into long wedges and then finely slice each wedges lengthwise into tiny segments making sure you leave the skin intact. Its the skin that is going to hold all the tiny cut pieces. Sprinkle some salt and red chilli powder… Enjoy manga badhai 🙂

2 Comments Add yours

  1. arethusa says:

    Ah, the manga slices with chilli powder at Marina beach! My favorite snack…but where do you get raw mangoes here? The Indian store almost never has them, and the other stores only carry the half-fruit half-raw ones.

  2. Even here in Houston you don’t find them all the time. I just got lucky this time. But usually in summer we get it most of the time. Sometimes I have seen frozen raw chut mango. I have never tried them so not sure how good they are but that could be an alternative.

Leave a Reply

