Quick cilantro chutney!

Rainy and gloomy! Thats exactly how the weather in Houston has been for the last 12 hours. So to cheer myself up I decided to make one of my favorite breakfast dishes for dinner. IDLI! So how many of you still eat Idli with sugar?? I’m definitely one of them :). But today for a change I made my mom’s cilantro coconut chutney to go with the idlies. Keeping it simple and tasty, my goal for this year!!!

Here is the recipe:

Ingredients:

Shallots – 3-4

Coconut – 4tbsp

Tamarind – 1tsp tamarind paste (but if you like it sour then add more)

Green chilli- 6-8

Cilantro- (I used an entire bunch (large) of cilantro. About one cup)

Salt – taste

 1. Grind all the ingredients  into a smooth paste. (Optional: you can temper the chutney with mustard seeds. Heat 1tbsp of oil and add mustard seeds. As soon as the seeds start splattering add it to the chutney)

Leave a Reply

