Kadala (Black chickpeas) curry….Simple and flavorful!

My mom is a fabulous cook and a wonderful host. Be it a simple meal for 4 or a feast for 40 she can do it with absolute ease. It’s inspiring to watch her play with spices and bring out some fabulous dishes. Everything that I know about food and cooking I learnt it from her. Since its mother’s day I decided to surprise my mom with a recipe that she has always wanted to try.

This dish happens to be one of my favorites- Kadala curry (Black chickpeas curry). It’s a simple flavorful dish. There are several versions but I got this one from my friend and I love it because it’s the quickest.

Happy Mother’s day to all the moms out there!!!!

Ingredients:

Black chickpeas (Kaala channa) – 500gms

Onion – 1 large (chopped into big slices)

Green chillies – 5

Shredded coconut – 1 cup


Spices:

Chillie powder – 1tsp

Turmeric – 1tsp

Coriander powder- 2 tsp

Cumin powder -1 tsp

Seasoning:

Coconut oil- 1 tbsp

Mustard seeds- 1tsp

Garlic – 4 pods (finely chopped)

Curry leaves – plenty


Step 1: Pressure cook

Soak black channa overnight.

Cook the channa, onion and green chillies (slit lengthwise) in a pressure cooker ( 3 whistles).Make sure you don’t add too much water when you pressure cook it because the final gravy should not be too watery.


Step 2: To make the masala:

Dry fry coconut and all the spices ( turmeric, chillie, coriander and cumin powder) and grind it into a paste with some water.

Add the masala paste to the cooked channa and continue cooking it for about 5-7 minutes(medium flame) just to allow the channa to soak up all the spices.

Step 3: Seasoning (tadka):

Heat coconut oil in seasoning pan and add chopped garlic, mustard seeds and curry leaves. Once mustard starts splattering and the garlic turns golden brown, add it to the channa.


Kadala curry goes very well with puttu (steamed rice flour cake).Oh, I forgot the banana 🙂

Mom, I hope you like this recipe.Happy Mother’s day and I love you 🙂

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Your face looks the same 😛 Puttu-kadala is one of my favourites. Been ages since I had it though 😦 Pasikudhu!

  2. haha..thanks!would have preferred a longer nose 🙂 Next time will try to make puttu from scratch.

  3. Niv says:

    I think this is the only mummy post that has induced me to slight tear feelings. Your mummy are there.I just had her mullu murruku yesterday.Effing joy.Vazhga.INSPIRED!

  4. Chitra says:

    Hi,

    Just came to the website by chance. Enjoyes your blog and lovely photographs. Shall try your recipes.

    I realised you are Seetha’s daughter on seeing the foto. Never had the oppty to eat the food cooked by her but I can vouch for Geetha and Perima’s(Kunju Patti for u all) cooking !!
    Take care!!

Leave a Reply

